Exercise 3.2 (P.60): (Personality Aspects)

Brief:

Make a list of some aspects of your personality that make you unique. Start taking a few pictures that could begin to express this. How could you develop this into a body of work?

Personality traits:

Super mom, creative, don’t show emotions, discreet, sensitive, depressed when things go wrong or when loosing a close one, polite, not very social, shy, not comfortable in big gatherings and formal occasions.

Since I don’t like to show my emotions or express them verbally; I tend to capture them in my photographs.  I do not take self portraits as I prefer to be behind the camera but my photographs whether they are portraits or general photography are always a mirror to my feelings and own self at that certain moment.  I represent moods to express how I feel.  For example, I use black and white to add drama to my portraits:

I create mood with dark shadows to a scene to intensify my dark emotions and give the feeling of loneliness or mystery or even nostalgia:

The Square Mile

See all the photographs of this series of my work for “The Square Mile” here.

When I am happy and in a good mood; my photographs tend to be live with bright colors and happy portraits:

image

My work reflects my mood.  Wether it is joy or sorrow, the photographs portray my emotions.  If I can’t distill my voice into one image; I use story telling:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

From my assignment 5 at (The Art Of Photography) old course

It’s not always the person that is exuding a persona, but rather the objects or scene surrounding them such as movement and chaotic in this photograph:

img_0200

Photographs can be more engaging and powerful when information is withheld.  Engaging the senses in the photographs brings out memories of the scene portrayed.

To develop a body of work; Carol Bove an American artist explains:

“I believe that in order to make something that’s meaningful you have to start by figuring yourself out psychologically”.

Self portraits can be created in every image, it reflects who we are more than the people portrayed.  The mood the photographer is in at a certain moment will reflect on how he sees others while photographing them.


Bibliography / References:

Ingalls, K.  A Guide for Developing a Cohesive Body of Work [online]. Click & Company. Available from: http://www.clickinmoms.com/blog/a-guide-for-developing-a-cohesive-body-of-work-by-kristin-ingalls/# [Accessed 6 December, 2016].

Kim, E. (2011).  How to Express Yourself as an Artist and Photographer [online]. Available from: http://erickimphotography.com/blog/2015/04/23/how-to-express-yourself-as-an-artist-and-photographer/ [Accessed 6 December, 2016].

Roberts, B. (2011).  Photographic Portraits: Narrative and Memory [online]. FQS. Available from: http://www.qualitative-research.net/index.php/fqs/article/view/1680/3203#g5 [Accessed 6 December, 2016].

Seaman, A.  (2012).  Identifying and Capturing Personality in Your Portraits [online]. Envatotuts+. Available from: https://photography.tutsplus.com/articles/identifying-and-capturing-personality-in-your-portraits–photo-9618 [Accessed 6 December, 2016].

 

 

Leave a Reply

