Assignment 2: Initial Ideas and Plans (Plan A)

I have to admit assignment two is driving me crazy, I feel clueless and I am running out of time, my deadline is approaching and I don’t feel satisfied with my work so far.  My idea was to spend the morning with an Artist at her home and take photographs of her on how she spends her day.  I took lots of photographs but looking at them now, I don’t feel that there is anything special about them.  I don’t know if I am moving on the right direction or I am just over thinking the assignment!

I would love some feedback from my fellow students (good or bad) anything will help for now as I am clueless.  I do have something else in mind in case this won’t work but I am running out of time and I am not sure if my other plan will work either!

The problem I faced is that the apartment’s lighting was very bad so I tried to benefit from the big window, however the sun was up and the light was not perfect.  I had to use my flash although I don’t like using flash and I am not very good with flash but I had no other option.  The decoration and interior design was simple.  Everything was as beautiful as my subject’s heart.  A very kind and warm woman but when I went back home and checked the photos I felt that the colors are all the same from the furniture to the model’s clothes! Everything is brown.  She mentioned that she loves the leopard prints so I am not sure if that makes the photos ok.  I tried to convert the photographs to black and white to avoid the matching colors of the model with the background but I am not sure if I like that either!

I will work on my second plan tomorrow in case this won’t work out the way I want but I do appreciate any feedback.

 

 

15 thoughts on “Assignment 2: Initial Ideas and Plans (Plan A)

  1. Holly Woodward says:

    My first thought was about her art too. I wasn’t sure whether the image of her looking at a piece of embroidery was her own work. Like the others though, I prefer the colour set. It is more vibrant.

    Like

    • Ghada says:

      Yes it’s her work, she basically teaches arts and crafts to her students by visiting them at home. She does not have a studio though. I think plan b which I will uploading shortly fits assignment two more. Good luck with your assignment too Holly, hope you are on the right track now 🙂

      Like

  2. Judy Bach says:

    I agree with Catherine & Lynda and much prefer the colour versions they suggest how your subject is a vibrant, artistic & lively person . Catherine makes a good point about seeing her with her art , that would add an interesting dimension to the set. I’m well behind schedule too –got to contact my tutor to tell him of my delay ! Good luck .

    Like

  3. Judy Bach says:

    I agree with Catherine & Lynda and much prefer the colour versions they suggest a vibrant, artistic & lively person . Catherine makes a good point about seeing her with her art , that would add an interesting dimension to the set. I would take your time , I made the mistake of rushing my first DI&C assignment to meet a deadline but need to re-do it

    Like

    • Ghada says:

      I agree with Catherine but as I explained to her the artist only goes to her students for art classes, she does not have a studio, perhaps I should have asked her to work on something just for the photos. I also agree with you about not rushing the work, I am on a tight schedule though but I decided not to go with this idea and try something different, I will be uploading my plan b soon and will need help from you and my fellow students, thank you so much and good luck to you too 🙂

      Like

  4. Catherine says:

    I prefer the colour as well.
    If i hadn’t read your description of her, I wouldn’t have known that she is an artist so was wondering whether you have any images of her creating her art – or is this carried out in a separate studio?

    Like

    • Ghada says:

      Thanks Catherine, she doesn’t have a studio, she teaches kids arts and crafts at their own homes so I photographed her talking about her work like the photograph above and there is another one that I did not upload of her showing me her students’ work but basically it’s the same idea like this photograph. I am thinking of doing plan B instead, I’m not so happy about these photos so far for this assignment.

      Like

  5. lynda512863 says:

    We’re in the same dilemma. I’m so over my deadline its crazy. I prefer the colour images.There are splashes of other colours in some of the images which adds some accents, but I like the unified colour palette actually. Don’t see any problems with the flash either – but I’m no expert there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

